About Islamabad

Islamabad Capital Territory is the only federal territory of Pakistan. Located in north-central Pakistan between the provinces of Punjab and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, it includes the country’s federal capital Islamabad. The territory is represented in the National Assembly constituencies NA-52, NA-53 and NA-54.

In 1960, land was transferred from Rawalpindi District of Punjab province to establish Pakistan’s new capital. According to the 1960s master plan, the Capital Territory included Rawalpindi, and was to be composed of the following parts;

1. Rawalpindi, 259 square kilometres (100 sq mi)
2. Islamabad, 220.15 square kilometres (85.00 sq mi)
3. Margalla Hills, 220.15 square kilometres (85.00 sq mi)
4. Islamabad rural, 446.20 square kilometres (172.28 sq mi)





Our Publications

Journalists Unsafe in Pakistan: Afzal Butt

Afzal Butt, the president of Pakistan Federal Union of Journalists (PFUJ), has acknowledged that journalists are not safe at all in this country. “They face

E-Bulletin For January 2015

January 2015 Jan 05: Supreme Court indicts ARY TV channel anchor Mubashar Lucman and CEO Salman Iqbal in ‘contempt of court’ case. Jan 08: